Different Types of Trauma

Javascript Required
Your browser must have Javascript enabled in order for our dynamic player to be embedded. Please turn on Javascript in your browser preferences and then refresh this page.


Care for trauma victims has been provided by Broward Health Medical Center since 1993 as a Level II Trauma Center. In 1998 our institution was accredited by the state of Florida as a Level I Trauma Center, the largest in Broward County.  The Trauma Center at Broward Health Medical Center is the only one treating pediatric patients in the northern two-thirds of the county and is equipped to treat the youngest trauma patients. Today Broward Health is one of only seven facilities in Florida to attain this high level of trauma accreditation.

In December 2005 our new Trauma Center facility was inaugurated to expand and improve our capabilities of providing the highest level of care to trauma victims. This expansion included four state of the art trauma/resuscitation rooms and six observation rooms dedicated to the care of trauma patients allowing us to manage multiple injured patients or mass casualty disasters. The Intensive Care Unit was also expanded to 24 private beds. A dedicated operating room suite is also available just for trauma patients 24 hours a day.



Pedro Gonzalez

Pedro Gonzalez, MD

General Surgeon

Channel Links